Our Team

The National Maternity Voices core committee members include:

Acting Chair: Hannah Lynes @HannahLynes former chair Bromley Maternity Voices (MVP), Coordinator of the Better Breastfeeding advocates network, NCT breastfeeding counsellor, MVP rep on South East London LMS Public Health working group

Secretary: Louise Griew, former chair South Warwickshire MSLC 2009-2013, NCT West Midlands Maternity Services User rep support, SWFT Patient Forum member, User rep on Coventry and Warwickshire LMS

Website Administrator: Cathy Brewster @MancHomebirth Acting Chair of Stockport MVP, Greater Manchester & Eastern Cheshire MVP Network co-chair and LMS board user rep, Greater Manchester Homebirth Support Group Chair

Toyin Adeyinka, Chair Lewisham MVP. I’ve been involved with the MVP ever since our hospital was threatened with a downgrade of services. I enjoy how empowering the MVPs are for women and their families.

Amneet Graham @GrahamAmneet I’m Service User Chair for Newcastle upon Tyne Maternity Voice Partnership and I’m also Chair and Founder for organisation Willow’s Rainbow Box, supporting families pregnant again after previous loss.

Sandra Guise @WNECumbriaMVP @sandra_sjp Chair West Cumbria MVP; Chair Carlise & Eden MVP; Co-chair Northeast & North Cumbria Clinical Network Maternity Engagement Group

Jenny Hamilton chair of East Kent MVP

Laura James @Jameslaja1 NCT antenatal practitioner, training lead for National Maternity Voices, former chair Bromley Maternity Voices (MVP) (2014-2017), former NMV acting chair (2018-19), former co-chair of London MVP strategic group (2018-20)

Suzanne Jarrett @MvpSouthwest Chair of Brighton and Hove MVP

Emma Johnston chair of West Sussex MVP

Mindy Noble @hantsmaternity Chair of Hampshire MSLC and NCT breastfeeding counsellor

Ruth Prentice @N_Ne_LincsMVP Chair Northern Lincolnshire Maternity Voices Partnership, Humber, Coast and Vale LMS board service user rep

Emma Taylor, Chair Reading MVP. I joined because I’m passionate about empowering women, and I believe every woman should have a pregnancy and birth she is at peace with. I love being part of the process to transform maternity services.

Catherine Williams @BerksMaternity Reading Maternity Voices (MVP) Service user member,  NCT antenatal practitioner, AIMS, NICE Fellow, Midwifery Unit Network, founding NMV acting chair

The following members of our core committee are also lay representatives on Regional Maternity Transformation Boards:

Suzanne Jarrett (South West England)
Catherine Williams (South East England)

The following members of our core committee are also lay representatives on National Maternity Transformation Workstreams:

Toyin Adeyinka (WS4: Access to Perinatal Mental Health)
Cathy Brewster (WS7: Harnessing Digital Technology)
Emma Johnston (WS10: Neonatal)
Emma Taylor (WS9: Prevention)
Catherine Williams (WS5: Transforming the Workforce)

NHS England Maternity Transformation Programme link:
Lisa Ramsey @Doula_lisa Service User Voice Policy Manager – Maternity Transformation Programme NHS England, former Better Births National Stakeholder Council member 2016-2018, former User Chair Reading Maternity Voices Partnership 2015-2018
Associate members of our team:
Rachel Gardner @RachelEllieG Former Lead of Sheffield MVP, Former director of Sheffield service user charity – Forging Families. Antenatal educator. Research consultant for Sheffield Hallam University
Helen Gray @HelenGrayIBCLC Vice Chair (and former Chair) St George’s Maternity Forum MVP.La Leche League Leader, LLL Clapham.
Rachel James, Service user rep Cambridge MVP, Positive Birth Movement facilitator, VBAC peer supporter Cambridge NCT contact for VBAC & caesarean birth, Director of Caesarean in Focus CIC
Rachel Plachcinski @stroppybrunette Service User Rep, Maternity Mouthpiece (North Kirklees MVP), co-lead for parent, patient and public involvement at NPEU, the government’s policy research unit for maternity and neonatal care.
Paul Webster @GingeWebster Freelance content-writer, speaker, blogger, advocate for paternal mental health
Ruth Weston @bornstroppy former MSLC chair Bradford and Airedale, AIMS activist.
Our stakeholder community – our stakeholder panel:
We are delighted to work with:
Maria Booker Programmes Director at Birthrights
Kate Brian, Women’s Voices Lead, Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists
Kate Brintworth, Head of Transformation, Royal College of Midwives
Jen Coates, Director of Volunteering and Bereavement Support, Sands
Kath Evans, Experience of Care Lead, Maternity, Infants, Children & Young People, NHS England
Mary Newburn, Service User Advocate, Network co-Lead – Midwifery Unit Network
Professor Lesley Page, visiting professor in midwifery King’s College London. Adjunct professor UTS and Griffith University, Australia
Rineke Schram, Consultant Obstetrician,
Florence Wilcock, Consultant Obstetrician, Kingston Hospital
Liz Wigley, Maternity Commissioning Manager, Leeds CCGs
National Maternity Voices Chair role

The National Maternity Voices committee has drawn up a National Maternity Voices Chair Role Description . (PDF 58.6kb)